Schedule a Merge Job

OneMerge Training – How to Schedule a Merge Job

The purpose of this article is to provide step-by-step instructions for the scheduling of a Merge Job that will merge duplicate records for given Salesforce Object in bulk on a defined schedule.

Option 1 – Guided Setup

Please note, Option 1 allows hourly scheduling, whereas Option 2 is limited to daily, weekly or monthly frequency.

To schedule the Merge Job, follow these steps:   

  1. From the OneMerge Application Home page, click Guided Setup in the footer.
  2. On the first screen select the Setup Action Schedule the Merge Job, and click the Next button (as shown below).
  3. On the next screen select the Salesforce Object and Schedule Type (e.g. Hourly), and click the Next button.
  4. On the next screen enter the required schedule information (e.g. for Hourly, the start minute is required i.e. 15 for 15 minutes past the hour), and click the Next button to schedule the job.
  5. The next screen should show a success message, click the Finish button.
  6. Refresh the OneMerge Home page and check the Merge Job Status panel for the next scheduled run time.

Note: To cancel a scheduled Merge Job, select the relevant one from the Merge Job Status panel on the Home Page and click on the arrow to ‘Abort’.

Option 2 – Schedule Apex

To schedule the Merge Job, follow these steps:

  1. Open the Salesforce Setup menu.
  2. Select Custom Code>Apex Classes.
  3. Click the Schedule Apex button (the screen shown below should appear).
  4. Select Apex Class as AccountMergeJob (or ContactMergeJob, LeadMergeJob).
  5. Select the time and frequency the schedule is to run.
  6. Click the Save button.

Additional Information (Standard and Enterprise Edition)

In order to disable realtime merge (and merge duplicates only by scheduled Merge Job), the following settings need to be applied first:  

  1. Open the Salesforce Setup menu.
  2. Select Custom Code>Custom Settings.
  3. Click on the Manage link next to App Settings.
  4. Click the Edit button.
  5. Ensure the Is Realtime Merge Active? checkbox is unticked.
  6. Click on Save.

Article last reviewed: 2024-03-27