This blog post, Salesforce Merge Undo, explores and demonstrates the ability to be able to undo Record Merges using OneMerge. When Records are Merged, there may be occasions where the end result is not as expected, is incorrect ,or a merge should not have happened at all. The rollback feature within OneMerge refers to the process of reversing changes made during a merge operation. It is a crucial piece of Data Quality Management, which OneMerge provides in the form of an easy to navigate User Interface.
The following demo provides an overview of the Merge Undo (Rollback) feature within OneMerge. The assumption is that a Merge has already taken place, and there is a requirement to return the Merged Records to their former state.
Test Scenario
- Click on the Merge Result link within the Merge Rule Lineage of a Master Record.
- The Merge Result page is displayed, along with the Merge Result information and Analysis (see screenshot below).
- Click on the Rollback Button.
- Information is displayed explaining what happens when the Rollback continues. Please read this information before clicking Next.
- The outcome of the Rollback is summarised, including the Source Records that will be affected. Click the Next button to complete the Rollback.
- A success message is displayed with a brief summary. Clicking the Next button, will redirect you to the original record in step 1.
- The Merge Rule Lineage is no longer displayed in the Record, as the Merge has been reversed. OneMerge highlights the fact that there is a potential duplicate.

At this point, the Master Record and the Source Record(s) are no longer Merged and have been returned to their previous state.
To find out more about OneMerge, please contact us at hello@onemerge.co.uk or by using the Contact Us form on the website.